Area: 214,970 km² (World Rank 81)
Inhabitants: 770,000 (World Rank 155)
Georgetown is the capital of Guyana
Guyana (pronounced /ɡaɪˈænə/ or /ɡuyːˈɑːnə/), officially named the Co-operative Republic of Guyana and previously known as British Guiana, is the only nation state of the Commonwealth of Nations on the mainland of South America. Bordered to the east by Suriname, to the south and southwest by Brazil and to the west by Venezuela, it is the third-smallest country on the mainland of South America. It is one of four non-Spanish-speaking territories on the continent, along with the countries of Brazil (Portuguese), Suriname (Dutch) and the French overseas region of French Guiana (French). Culturally, Guyana associates primarily with the English-speaking Caribbean countries such as Jamaica, or Trinidad and Tobago.