Bogotá is the capital of Colombia
Inhabitants: 8,550,000 (World Rank 31)
Current Time:  
Flag Colombia
Bogotá—officially named Bogotá, D.C. (D.C. for "Distrito Capital", which means "Capital District"), formerly called Santa Fe de Bogotá, is the capital city of Colombia, as well as the most populous city in the country, with 7,033,914 inhabitants (2007). Bogotá and its metropolitan area, which includes municipalities such as Chía, Cota, Soacha, Cajicá and La Calera, had an estimated population of 8,244,980 as of 2007. Bogotá's altitude makes it the third-highest major city in the world after La Paz and Quito. In terms of land area, the city of Bogota is the largest in Colombia.