Ottawa is the capital of Canada
Inhabitants: 1,170,000 (World Rank 394)
Current Time:  
Flag Canada
Ottawa (pronounced /ˈɒtəwə/ or sometimes /ˈɒtəwɑː/) is the capital of Canada and the country's fourth largest municipality. With a population estimated at 1,190,982 Ottawa is also the second largest city in the province of Ontario. It is located in the Ottawa Valley in the eastern portion of the province of Ontario. Ottawa lies on the banks of the Ottawa River, a major waterway that forms the boundary between Ontario and Quebec.
There is no federal capital district in Canada. Ottawa is a municipality within the Province of Ontario. Although it does not constitute a separate administrative district, Ottawa is part of the federally-designated National Capital Region, which includes the neighbouring Quebec municipality of Gatineau. As with other national capitals, the word "Ottawa" is also used to refer by metonymy to the country's federal government, especially as opposed to provincial or municipal authorities.
The current mayor of Ottawa is Larry O'Brien, who succeeded Bob Chiarelli on December 1, 2006.