Dallas is a metropolitan area in United States
Inhabitants: 6,150,000 (World Rank 47)
incl. Fort Worth
Current Time:  
Flag United States
Dallas (pronounced /ˈdæləs/) is the third-largest (as estimated by the United States Census Bureau on 1 July 2006) city in the state of Texas and the ninth-largest in the United States. The city covers 385 square miles (997 km²) and is the county seat of Dallas County. As of July 1, 2006, U.S. Census estimates the population of Dallas at over 1,200,000 people.
The city is the main economic center of the 12-county Dallas–Fort Worth metropolitan area—at over 6.1 million people, it is the fourth-largest metropolitan area in the United States.
Dallas is also listed as a gamma world city by the Loughborough University Globalization and World Cities Study Group & Network.
Dallas was founded in 1841 and formally incorporated as a city on February 1856. The city's economy is primarily based on the petroleum industry, telecommunications, computer technology, banking, and transportation. It is the core of the largest inland metropolitan area in the United States and lacks any navigable link to the sea—Dallas's prominence despite this comes from its historical importance as a center for the oil and cotton industries, its position along numerous railroad lines, and a strong industrial and financial sector.