Washington is the capital of United States
Inhabitants: 8,200,000 (World Rank 34)
incl. Baltimore
Current Time:  
Flag United States
Washington, D.C. (pronounced /ˈwɒʃɪŋtən diːsiː/) (formally the District of Columbia and commonly referred to as Washington, the District, or simply D.C.) is the capital of the United States, founded on July 16, 1790. The City of Washington used to be a separate municipality within the District of Columbia. An Act of Congress in 1871 created a single government for the entire federal territory, effectively merging the City and the District into a single entity. The District of Columbia is located on the north bank of the Potomac River and is bordered by the states of Maryland to the northwest, northeast, and southeast and Virginia to the southwest. The District has a resident population of 588,292; however, its population rises to over one million people during the workweek, due to commuters from the surrounding suburbs. The Washington Metropolitan Area, of which the District of Columbia is a part, has a population of 5.3 million, the eighth-largest conurbation in the country.