Atlanta is a metropolitan area in United States
Inhabitants: 5,500,000 (World Rank 57)
Current Time:  
Flag United States
Atlanta (pronounced /ətˈlæntə/) is the capital and the most populous city in the state of Georgia, as well as the core city of the ninth most populous metropolitan area in the United States with 5,138,223 residents. It is the county seat of Fulton County, although a small portion of the city extends into DeKalb County. Despite its large metropolitan area, as of July 2006, the city of Atlanta had a population of 486,411 making it the 34th largest city in the United States, and sixth largest city in the southeastern region behind Jacksonville, Memphis, Charlotte, Louisville, and Nashville. Residents of the city are known as Atlantans.
Atlanta has in recent years undergone a transition from a city of regional commerce to a city of international influence. Between 2000 and 2006, the metropolitan area grew by 20.5%, making it the fastest growing metropolitan area in the nation. Atlanta is sometimes considered a poster child for cities worldwide experiencing rapid growth and urban sprawl, though the city has recently been commended by bodies such as the Environmental Protection Agency for its eco-friendly policies.