Makassar is a metropolitan area in Indonesia
Inhabitants: 1,300,000 (World Rank 354)
Current Time:  
Flag Indonesia
Makassar, (Macassar, Mangkasar) is the provincial capital of South Sulawesi, Indonesia, and the largest city on Sulawesi Island. From 1971 to 1999, the city was formally named Ujung Pandang, after a precolonial fort in the city, and the two names are often used interchangeably. The port city is located at 5°8′S, 119°25′E, on the southwest coast of the island of Sulawesi, facing the Makassar Strait.
Its area is 175.77 km² and has population of 1.25 million.