Lille is a metropolitan area in France
Inhabitants: 1,370,000 (World Rank 334)
incl. Kortrijk (Belgium)
Current Time:  
Flag France
Lille (IPA: [lil]; Dutch: Rijsel) is the main city of the Lille Métropole, France's fourth largest metropolitan area that consists of Lille, Roubaix, Tourcoing and their suburbs. It is located to the country's north, on the Deûle River, near the border with Belgium. It is the capital of the Nord-Pas de Calais region and the préfecture (capital) of the Nord department.
The city of Lille absorbed Lomme on February 27, 2000, giving a city population of 226,800 inhabitants at the 2005 census. This contrasts with a population of 1,091,438 for the Lille Métropole, making Lille the fourth largest city in France; and 1,885,000 for the eurodistrict of Lille-Kortrijk, which also includes the area around the cities of Kortrijk, Tournai, Mouscron and Ypres on Belgian territory.