Munich is a metropolitan area in Germany
Inhabitants: 1,960,000 (World Rank 206)
Current Time:  
Flag Germany
Munich (German: München, pronounced [ˈmʏnçən] listen (help·info); Austro-Bavarian: Minga) is the capital city of Bavaria, Germany. Munich is not the only location within Bavaria known as "München", three locations exist. The one which is known as "Munich", another which is northeast of the city of Nuremberg, and also a town north of the city of Passau. Munich is located on the River Isar north of the Bavarian Alps.
Munich is the third largest city in Germany. Ahead of it are Berlin and Hamburg. There are approximately 1.35 million inhabitants within Munich.
The city's motto is "München mag dich" ("Munich likes you"). Its native name, München, is derived from the Old German word for Mönche, which means "Monks" in English. This is the reason for the monk on the city's coat-of-arms. Black and gold - the colours of the Holy Roman Empire - have been the city's official colours since the time of Ludwig the Bavarian.