Hamburg is a metropolitan area in Germany
Inhabitants: 2,575,000 (World Rank 155)
Current Time:  
Flag Germany
Hamburg (German language: pronounced [ˈhambʊɐk], local pronunciation [ˈhambʊɐç] Low German/Low Saxon: Hamborg [ˈhaˑmbɔːχ], English: [ˈhæmbəˑg]) is the second-largest city in Germany (after Berlin) and along with Hamburg Harbour, its central port, Hamburg is also the second-largest port in Europe (after Rotterdam), ninth-largest port in the world, and the most populous city in the European Union which is not a national capital. The city contains an approximate 1.8 million inhabitants.
Hamburg's proper name is the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg (German: Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg). It makes reference to Hamburg's membership in the medieval Hanseatic League and also to the fact that Hamburg is a city-state and one of the sixteen Federal States of Germany.
Hamburg is located on the southern point of the Jutland Peninsula, directly between Continental Europe to its south, Scandinavia to its north, the North Sea to its west, and the Baltic Sea to its east. Hamburg is located in the position where the River Elbe meets with the rivers Alster and Bille. The central city area is situated around the Binnenalster ("Inner Alster") and the Außenalster ("Outer Alster") both of which are lakes. The island of Neuwerk and two other islands in the North Sea are also part of Hamburg, forming the Hamburg Wadden Sea National Park.
Hamburg is a world-renowned centre of commerce, especially within Northern Germany. It is also a city of diverse cultures, all of which are accepted within the city.