Jacksonville is a metropolitan area in United States
Inhabitants: 1,310,000 (World Rank 353)
Current Time:  
Flag United States
Jacksonville is the largest city in the state of Florida and the county seat of Duval County. In 1968, Jacksonville replaced Oklahoma City as the largest city in land area in the contiguous United States; this resulted from the consolidation of the city and county government, along with a corresponding expansion of the city limits to include almost the entire county. It is also the fourth largest city in land area in the United States.
In 2007, Jacksonville ranked as the United States' twelfth most populous city, with 794,555 residents. It is the principal city in the Greater Jacksonville Metropolitan Area, a region with a population of 1,300,823, and the fourth largest metropolitan area in the state, as of the 2006 Census Bureau estimates. Jacksonville is the third most populated city on the East Coast, after New York City and Philadelphia.
About 25 miles (40 km) south of the Georgia border, Jacksonville is in the First Coast region of northeast Florida and is centered on the banks of the St. Johns River. The settlement that became Jacksonville was founded in 1791 as Cowford because of its location at a narrow point in the river where cattle once crossed. In 1822, a year after the United States acquired Florida from Spain, the city was renamed for the first military governor of the Florida Territory, General Andrew Jackson, who would later be elected President of the United States. A statue of Jackson on horseback is prominently displayed downtown at the corner of Independent Dr. and Hogan St.