Gwangju is a metropolitan area in South Korea
Inhabitants: 1,500,000 (World Rank 303)
Current Time:  
Flag South Korea
Gwangju Metropolitan City is the sixth largest city in South Korea. Gwangju is a designated metropolitan city under the direct control of the central government's Home Minister. The city was also the capital of South Jeolla Province until the provincial office moved to the southern village of Namak, Muan in 2005.
Gwang (광,光) means light. Ju (주,州) means province.