El Salvador
Area: 21,040 km² (World Rank 148)
Inhabitants: 7.06 Mio. (World Rank 99)
San Salvador is the capital of El Salvador
El Salvador (República de El Salvador, Spanish pronunciation: [reˈpuβlika ðe (e)l salβaˈðoɾ]) is a country in Central America. The area was originally called by the Pipil "Cuzhcatl", in Spanish "Cuzcatlan", which in Nahuatl means "The Land Of Precious Things".
After the Spanish conquest, the land was baptized by Spanish conquistadors as "Provincia De Nuestro Señor Jesucristo El Salvador Del Mundo" ("Province of Our Lord Jesus Christ, The Savior Of The World"), now abbreviated as "República de El Salvador".
The country borders the Pacific Ocean between Guatemala and Honduras. With a population of approximately 5.8 million people, it is the most densely populated nation in Central America and is undergoing rapid industrialization.