Columbus is a metropolitan area in United States
Inhabitants: 1,760,000 (World Rank 244)
Current Time:  
Flag United States
Columbus is the capital and the largest city of the U.S. state of Ohio. Located near the geographic center of the state, Columbus is the county seat of Franklin County, although parts of the city also extend into Delaware and Fairfield counties. Named for explorer Christopher Columbus, the city was founded in 1812 at the confluence of the Scioto and Olentangy rivers, and assumed the functions of state capital in 1816. The city has a diverse economy based on education, insurance, healthcare, retail, and technology. Acknowledged by Money Magazine as the 8th best large city in the U.S. to inhabit, it is also recognized as an emerging global city. Residents of Columbus are usually referred to as Columbusites.
The population was 711,470 at the 2000 census. Columbus is located within 550 miles (890 km) of half of the United States' population. In 2006 Columbus was ranked as the 15th largest city in the United States, with 733,203 residents, and was also the 32nd largest metropolitan area, the fourth largest city in the Midwest, and the third most populous Capital in the U.S., behind Indianapolis, Indiana and Phoenix, Arizona. The name Columbus is often used to refer to the Columbus Metropolitan Area, which includes many other municipalities. According to the US Census, the metropolitan area has a population of 1,754,337, while the Combined Statistical Area (which also includes Marion and Chillicothe) has 1,982,252 people.