Turin is a metropolitan area in Italy
Inhabitants: 1,610,000 (World Rank 268)
Current Time:  
Flag Italy
Turin (Italian: Torino; Piedmontese: Turin; pronounced [tyɾ'iɳ]) is a major city as well as a business and cultural centre in northern Italy, capital of the Piedmont region, located mainly on the right bank of the Po River surrounded by the Alpine arch. The population of the city of Turin is 908,000 (2004 census); its agglomeration totals about 1.7 million inhabitants, ranking fourth in Italy, while its metropolitan area has a population of 2.2 million inhabitants , while it is rank as the third for financial importance. Turin is well-known as the home of the Shroud of Turin and Juventus FC, headquarters of Fiat and Lancia automobile manufacturers and host of the 2006 Winter Olympics. It has been the capital of the Duchy of Savoy since 1563, then of the Kingdom of Savoy and finally the first capital of a unified Italy. It's often refered as "The Capital of the Alps", "Automobile Capital" and "The Subalpine Capital".