Quanzhou is a metropolitan area in China
Inhabitants: 2,175,000 (World Rank 190)
Current Time:  
Flag China
"Zaytun" redirects here. For the South Korean military division in Iraq, see Zaytun Division.
The characters 泉州 are also used for "Senshū," an alternate name for the former Japanese province of Izumi.
Quanzhou (Chinese: 泉州; pinyin: Quánzhōu; Wade-Giles: Ch'üan2-chou1; Min Nan: Chôan-chiu) is a prefecture-level city in southeastern Fujian province, People's Republic of China. It borders all other prefecture-level cities in Fujian but two (Ningde and Nanping) and faces the Taiwan Strait. In older English works, its name may appear as Chinchew or Chinchu. In medieval Western accounts it is known as Zaytun or Zaitun, from the Arabic transcription (زيتون).
The People's Republic of China claims Jinmen County — more widely known as Quemoy — as part of Quanzhou, but the territory is currently under the jurisdiction of the Republic of China.