Area: 11,437 km² (World Rank 158)
Inhabitants: 928,000 (World Rank 153)
Doha is the capital of Qatar
Qatar (Arabic: قطر ‎; IPA: [ˈqɑtˁɑr], local pronunciation: giṭar), officially the State of Qatar (Arabic: دولة قطر transliterated as Dawlat Qatar), is an Arab emirate in Southwest Asia, occupying the small Qatar Peninsula on the northeasterly coast of the larger Arabian Peninsula. It is bordered by Saudi Arabia to the south; otherwise the Persian Gulf surrounds the state.