Ljubljana is the capital of Slovenia
Inhabitants: 279,000  
Current Time:  
Flag Slovenia
Ljubljana (pronounced [ʎubˈʎa:nʌ]), is the largest city and capital of Slovenia. It is located in the center of the country and has a population of 278,638 according to a 2007 census. Ljubljana is regarded as the cultural, scientific, economic, political and administrative center of Slovenia. The city is divided into several quarters, formerly municipalities, which also correspond to the main electoral constituencies of the city: Šiška, Bežigrad, Vič, Moste, and Center.
Its transport connections, concentration of industry, scientific and research institutions and industrial tradition are contributing factors to its leading economic position. Ljubljana is the seat of the central government, administrative bodies and all government ministries of Slovenia. It is also the seat of Parliament and of the Office of the President.