Hanoi is the capital of Vietnam
Inhabitants: 2,175,000 (World Rank 189)
Current Time:  
Flag Vietnam
Hanoi (Vietnamese: Hà Nội, Hán Tự: 河内) pronunciation (help·info), estimated population 3.398.889 (2007) , is the capital of Vietnam. From 1010 until 1802, it was the political centre of an independent Vietnam with a few brief interruptions. It was eclipsed by Huế during the Nguyen Dynasty as the capital of Vietnam, but served as the capital of French Indochina from 1887 to 1954. From 1954 to 1976, it was the capital of North Vietnam.
The city is located on the right bank of the Red River. Hanoi is located at 21°2' North, 105°51' East, 1760 km (1094 mi) north of Ho Chi Minh City.
On May 29 2008, it is decided that Ha Tay province, Vinh Phuc's Me Linh district and 3 communes of Luong Son district, Hoa Binh will be merged into the metropolitan area of Hanoi from August 1 2008. Hanoi's total areas will be maximized 3 times to 334,470 hectares divided into 29 subdivisions. The new population is 6,232,940.