Windhoek is the capital of Namibia
Inhabitants: 250,000  
Current Time:  
Flag Namibia
Windhoek, Namibia
Windhoek (pronounced /ˈvɪnthʊk/, sometimes in German: Windhuk) is the capital and largest city of the Republic of Namibia. It is located in the Khomas Region, has a population of approx. 230,000 and is a major trade centre of sheep skin. It sits on a sloping plain on the northern side of the Khomas Hochland (Khomas Highlands) at an altitude of 1665 metres. Windhoek was originally inhabited by the Herero, then became the centre of a Nama chief who defeated the Herero in the 19th century. Germany occupied the region in 1885, and the city became the seat of colonial rule in 1892 as the capital of the colony of German South-West Africa (Deutsch-Südwestafrika). During World War I Windhoek was captured by South African troops and became a South African Mandate under the League of Nations. Until the independence of Namibia was inaugurated in 1990, Windhoek was recognised as the capital city of South West Africa as administered by the South African government. It continues today as the capital city of the Republic of Namibia.