Area: 2,505,810 km² (World Rank 10)
Inhabitants: 40.21 Mio. (World Rank 31)
Khartoum is the capital of Sudan
Sudan (officially the Republic of Sudan) (Arabic: السودان ‎as-Sūdān) is the largest country in Africa and the Arab World, and tenth largest country in the world by area. It is bordered by Egypt to the north, the Red Sea to the northeast, Eritrea and Ethiopia to the east, Kenya and Uganda to the southeast, Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Central African Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west and Libya to the northwest. The country's name derives from the Arabic Bilad-al-sudan, literally "land of the blacks."Sudan has recently emerged as the world's most unstable country according to the Failed States Index, mainly due to the Military Government and the Darfur Conflict. The country has long been plagued by civil war stemming from racial and cultural inequality: most people in Sudan's northern region, which includes the capital city of Khartoum, are Arabs, most of whom are Muslims; while most southerners are blacks, who mainly practice traditional African religions. Despite that division, Sudan is managing to be a growing economy.