Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth is a metropolitan area in South Africa
Inhabitants: 1,150,000 (World Rank 397)
Current Time:  
Flag South Africa
Port Elizabeth (Xhosa: Ibhayi; colloquial Afrikaans: Die Baai) or known as Madiba Bay is a city in South Africa, situated in the Eastern Cape Province at 33°57′29″S, 25°36′00″E, 770km east of Cape Town. The city, often shortened to PE and nicknamed "The Friendly City" or "The Windy City", stretches for 16km along Algoa Bay, and is one of the major seaports in South Africa.
Port Elizabeth was founded as a town in 1820 to house British settlers as a way of strengthening the border region between the Cape Colony and the warlike Xhosa tribe. It now forms part of the Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality which has a population of over 1 million. The city is in a friendship partnership with the Swedish City of Gothenburg and is a sister city to the American cities of Jacksonville, Florida and Palm Desert, California.