Area: 118,480 km² (World Rank 98)
Inhabitants: 13.93 Mio. (World Rank 64)
Lilongwe is the capital of Malawi
The Republic of Malawi ([malaβi]; formerly Nyasaland) is a country located in southeastern Africa. It is bordered by Zambia to the northwest, Tanzania to the north and Mozambique, which surrounds it on the east, south and west and is separated from Malawi by Lake Malawi (also Lake Nyasa). The origin of the name Malawi remains unclear; it is held to be either derived from that of southern tribes, or noting the "glitter of the sun rising across the lake" (as seen in its flag). Malawi is a densely populated country with a democratically-elected, presidential system of government.