Area: 582,650 km² (World Rank 46)
Inhabitants: 37.95 Mio. (World Rank 34)
Nairobi is the capital of Kenya
The Republic of Kenya is a country in East Africa. It is bordered by Ethiopia to the north, Somalia to the east, Tanzania to the south, Uganda to the west, and Sudan to the northwest, with the Indian Ocean running along the southeast border. The country is named after Mount Kenya, a very significant landmark, and both were originally usually pronounced ˈkiːnjə in English although the native pronunciation and the one intended by the original transcription Kenia was ˈkenia. During the presidency of Jomo Kenyatta in the 1960s, the current pronunciation ˈkɛnjə became widespread in English too because his name was pronounced according to the original native pronunciation. Before 1920, the area now known as Kenya was known as the British East Africa Protectorate and so there was no need to mention mount when referring to the mountain.