Area: 245,857 km² (World Rank 75)
Inhabitants: 10.21 Mio. (World Rank 79)
Conakry is the capital of Guinea
"Gn" redirects here. For information on the letters themselves, see Gn (digraph).
Guinea, officially Republic of Guinea (pronounced /ˈgɪni/, French: République de Guinée), is a country in West Africa, formerly known as French Guinea. Guinea's territory has a curved shape, with its base at the Atlantic Ocean, inland to the east, and turning south. The base borders Guinea-Bissau and Senegal to the north, and Mali to the north and north-east; the inland part borders Côte d'Ivoire to the south-east, Liberia to the south, and Sierra Leone to the west of the southern tip. Its water sources include the Niger, Senegal, and Gambia rivers. Guinea is sometimes called Guinea-Conakry (Conakry being its capital) to differentiate it from the neighboring Guinea-Bissau (whose capital is Bissau).