Area: 11,300 km² (World Rank 159)
Inhabitants: 1.73 Mio. (World Rank 144)
Banjul is the capital of Gambia
The Gambia, officially the Republic of The Gambia, commonly known as Gambia, is a country in Western Africa. It is the smallest country on the African continental mainland and is bordered to the north, east, and south by Senegal, and has a small coast on the Atlantic Ocean in the west. Flowing through the centre of the country and emptying into the Atlantic Ocean is the Gambia River. On 18 February 1965, The Gambia became independent from the former British Empire and joined The Commonwealth. Banjul is its capital but the largest conurbation is Serekunda.