Area: 2,381,740 km² (World Rank 11)
Inhabitants: 33.76 Mio. (World Rank 36)
Algiers is the capital of Algeria
Algeria (الجزائر, Al Jaza'ir IPA: [ælʤæˈzæːʔir], Berber: , Dzayer [ldzæjər]), officially the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, is a nation in North Africa. It is the second largest country on the African continent and the 11th largest country in the world in terms of total area. It is bordered by Tunisia in the northeast, Libya in the east, Niger in the southeast, Mali and Mauritania in the southwest, a few kilometers of the Western Sahara in the west, Morocco in the northwest, and the Mediterranean Sea in the north.
Algeria is a member of the United Nations, African Union, Arab League, and OPEC. It also contributed towards the creation of the Arab Maghreb Union. Constitutionally, Algeria is defined as an Arab, and Amazigh (Berber) country.