São Tomé and Príncipe
Area: 1,001 km² (World Rank 170)
Inhabitants: 206,000 (World Rank 175)
São Tomé is the capital of São Tomé and Príncipe
São Tomé and Príncipe (English pronunciation IPA: [saʊ̯ tʰəˈmeɪ̯ ənd ˈpʰɹɪnsɪpɪ], Portuguese pronunciation IPA: [sɐ̃ũ tu'mɛ i 'pɾı̃sɨpɨ]), officially the Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe, is an island nation in the Gulf of Guinea, off the western equatorial coast of Africa. It consists of two islands: São Tomé and Príncipe, located about 140 kilometres apart and about 250 and 225 kilometres, respectively, off the northwestern coast of Gabon. Both islands are part of an extinct volcanic mountain range. São Tomé, the sizable southern island, is situated just north of the equator. It was named in honor of Saint Thomas by Portuguese explorers who happened to arrive at the island on his feast day.
São Tomé and Príncipe is the second-smallest African country in terms of population (the Seychelles being the smallest). It is the smallest country in the world that is not a former British overseas territory, a former United States trusteeship, or one of the European microstates. It is also the smallest Portuguese-speaking country.